WHY DOMICILE IN TEXAS?
No state income tax, which includes:
Private pension income
Texas is the largest contiguous state in the US. Because of our size there are 4 distinct regions. East Texas has the Piney Woods region where there are many National and State Parks, private RV parks and campgrounds. West Texas has a warm dry climate with Big Bend National Park where there are many tent campgrounds.Panhandle region has the flat lands and canyons such as Palo Duro Canyon. This region is home to many RV parks and campgrounds. South Texas has the Gulf of Mexico coastline where fishing and water sports are everywhere.
You could work all year just in Texas and experience every kind of terrain and weather. Of course, you can domicile in Texas and never come to the State except to set up your domicile. To do that you will have to come to Wichita Falls to have your vehicles inspected, registered, and apply for your Texas driver’s license.
You can register to vote when you apply for the driver’s license. Texas Home Base provides a perspective client with a packet containing information, forms, and instructions to help in the process. Most clients can get everything done in one day. Since the enactment of the Affordable Care Act (Obama Care) check your insurance rates for the county and city where you choose to domicile. Texas Home Base address is in Wichita County, TX. I have heard from some clients that this area is less expensive, but I don’t have numbers to compare to other States. Driver’s license fee is $25.00 for a 6 year period. You can renew by mail each and every renewal period.
Registration Fees for Vehicles
There is a one – time fee of $90.00 for new residents of Texas Sales tax in Wichita County is 8.25%
Passenger Vehicles / Trucks 6,000 lbs or less = $50.75 (plus $10.00 County fee)
Trailers / Travel Trailers 6,000 lbs or less = $54.00 (plus $10.00 County fee)
All Vehicles 6,001 lbs to 10,000 lbs = $54.00 (Gross weight Plus Carrying capacity) (plus $10.00 County fee)
Vehicles 10,001 lbs or more will pay the following fees (plus $10.00 County fee)
10,001 – 18,000 lbs = $110.00
18,001 – 25,999 lbs = $205.00
26,000 – 40,000 lbs = $340.00
40,001 – 54,999 lbs = $535.00
55,000 – 70,000 lbs = $740.00
70,001 – 80,000 lbs = $840.00